Posted in: Buying a home, First time homebuyer tips, Getting a mortgage

FHA loan limits for Wisconsin in 2016

FHA Loan Limits, Wisconsin Mortgage

Loans backed by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) can be secured even if the buyer has a down payment as low as 3.5 percent. Many first-time buyers use FHA loans to help them secure a loan even when they don’t have a large lump sum in savings.

FHA loans are commonly known as helper loans, and they are not meant to fund a multi-million dollar second home in Miami. To ensure buyers using FHA loans are borrowing responsibly, FHA loans have limits that are set by county. Below are the FHA loan limits for single-family homes across every county in Wisconsin.

Pro tip: Some cities are technically located across multiple counties, so check with your REALTOR® or lender to see what the loan limits are on specific homes near the county line.

2016 FHA loan limits for Wisconsin counties          

Wisconsin county FHA loan limit for 2016
Adams County $271,050
Ashland County $271,050
Barron County $271,050
Bayfield County $271,050
Brown County $271,050
Buffalo County $271,050
Burnett County $271,050
Calumet County $271,050
Chippewa County $271,050
Clark County $271,050
Columbia County $271,400
Crawford County $271,050
Dane County $271,400
Dodge County $271,050
Door County $271,050
Douglas County $271,050
Dunn County $271,050
Eau Claire County $271,050
Forest County $271,050
Grant County $271,050
Green County $271,400
Green Lake County $271,050
Iowa County $271,400
Iron County $271,050
Jackson County $271,050
Jefferson County $271,050
Juneau County $271,050
Kenosha County $365,700
Kewaunee County $271,050
La Crosse County $271,050
Lafayette County $271,050
Langlade County $271,050
Lincoln County $271,050
Manitowoc County $271,050
Marathon County $271,050
Marinette County $271,050
Marquette County $271,050
Menominee County $271,050
Milwaukee County $288,650
Monroe County $271,050
Oconto County $271,050
Oneida County $271,050
Outagamie County $271,050
Ozaukee County $288,650
Pepin County $271,050
Pierce County $326,600
Polk County $271,050
Portage County $271,050
Price County $271,050
Racine County $271,050
Richland County $271,050
Rock County $271,050
Rusk County $271,050
Sauk County $271,050
Sawyer County $271,050
Shawano County $271,050
Sheboygan County $271,050
St. Croix County $326,600
Taylor County $271,050
Trempealeau County $271,050
Vernon County $271,050
Vilas County $271,050
Walworth County $271,050
Washburn County $271,050
Washington County $288,650
Waukesha County $288,650
Waupaca County $271,050
Waushara County $271,050
Winnebago County $271,050
Wood County $271,050

Ready to secure an FHA loan?

FHA loans can be advantageous for the right buyer. If you think you could benefit from an FHA loan, read more about the benefits of these loans, or reach out today to get started on the mortgage process.

For more buyer insights you can use, follow #BuyerInsights on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Join over {{'43232' | number}} subscribers

Status Definitions

For sale: Properties which are available for showings and purchase

Active contingent: Properties which are available for showing but are under contract with another buyer

Pending: Properties which are under contract with a buyer and are no longer available for showings

Sold: Properties on which the sale has closed.

Coming soon: Properties which will be on the market soon and are not available for showings.

Contingent and Pending statuses may not be available for all listings