Posted in: Buying a home, First time homebuyer tips, Getting a mortgage

FHA loan limits for Minnesota in 2016

FHA loan limits, minnesota mortgage

Buyers who secure a loan backed by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) can put as little as 3.5 percent down at closing. For this reason, FHA loans are extremely common among first-time buyers.

Because FHA loans are meant to give a leg up to those who may not be able to afford a home otherwise, these loans do have limits based on the county where the loan is originated. Below are the FHA loan limits for single-family homes across every county in Minnesota.

Keep in mind that some cities may span several counties, and your REALTOR® or lender can help you determine the loan limit for specific properties that are near the county line.

2016 FHA loan limits for Minnesota counties                                                

Minnesota county FHA loan limit for 2016
Aitkin County $271,050
Anoka County $326,600
Becker County $271,050
Beltrami County $271,050
Benton County $271,050
Big Stone County $271,050
Blue Earth County $271,050
Brown County $271,050
Carlton County $271,050
Carver County $326,600
Cass County $271,050
Chippewa County $271,050
Chisago County $326,600
Clay County $271,050
Clearwater County $271,050
Cook County $282,900
Cottonwood County $271,050
Crow Wing County $271,050
Dakota County $326,600
Dodge County $271,050
Douglas County $271,050
Faribault County $271,050
Fillmore County $271,050
Freeborn County $271,050
Goodhue County $271,050
Grant County $271,050
Hennepin County $326,600
Houston County $271,050
Hubbard County $271,050
Isanti County $326,600
Itasca County $271,050
Jackson County $271,050
Kanabec County $271,050
Kandiyohi County $271,050
Kittson County $271,050
Koochiching County $271,050
Lac Qui Parle County $271,050
Lake County $271,050
Lake of the Woods County $271,050
Le Sueur County $326,600
Lincoln County $271,050
Lyon County $271,050
Mahnomen County $271,050
Marshall County $271,050
Martin County $271,050
McLeod County $271,050
Meeker County $271,050
Mille Lacs County $326,600
Morrison County $271,050
Mower County $271,050
Murray County $271,050
Nicollet County $271,050
Nobles County $271,050
Norman County $271,050
Olmsted County $271,050
Otter Tail County $271,050
Pennington County $271,050
Pine County $271,050
Pipestone County $271,050
Polk County $271,050
Pope County $271,050
Ramsey County $326,600
Red Lake County $271,050
Redwood County $271,050
Renville County $271,050
Rice County $271,050
Rock County $271,050
Roseau County $271,050
Scott County $326,600
Sherburne County $326,600
Sibley County $326,600
St. Louis County $271,050
Stearns County $271,050
Steele County $271,050
Stevens County $271,050
Swift County $271,050
Todd County $271,050
Traverse County $271,050
Wabasha County $271,050
Wadena County $271,050
Waseca County $271,050
Washington County $326,600
Watonwan County $271,050
Wilkin County $271,050
Winona County $271,050
Wright County $326,600
Yellow Medicine County $271,050

Ready to secure an FHA loan?

For the right buyer, FHA loans can be a great way to buy a home that would otherwise be out of reach. Read more about the benefits of FHA loans, or reach out today to get started on the process of securing an FHA loan.

For more buyer insights you can use, follow #BuyerInsights on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Join over {{'43232' | number}} subscribers

Status Definitions

For sale: Properties which are available for showings and purchase

Active contingent: Properties which are available for showing but are under contract with another buyer

Pending: Properties which are under contract with a buyer and are no longer available for showings

Sold: Properties on which the sale has closed.

Coming soon: Properties which will be on the market soon and are not available for showings.

Contingent and Pending statuses may not be available for all listings