Posted in: Buying a home, Getting a mortgage, First time homebuyer tips

FHA loan limits for Wisconsin in 2019

FHA loans, which are backed by the Federal Housing Administration, can be secured with a down payment as low as 3.5 percent. This makes FHA loans a great solution for buyers who can afford to pay a monthly mortgage payment, but who may struggle with saving for a down payment.

For this reason, FHA loans are often called “helper loans.” But they aren’t designed to help buyers purchase multi-million dollar properties. Instead, FHA loans are available for borrowers who are purchasing starter homes or other moderately-priced properties.

To ensure responsible borrowing, the FHA sets a loan limit for each county, based on the typical housing prices for the area. Here are the 2019 FHA loan limits for each county in Wisconsin.

Note: FHA borrowers will also pay mortgage insurance at the time of closing, and monthly throughout the life of the loan. Learn more about how mortgage insurance works.

2019 FHA loan limits for Wisconsin counties

Wisconsin county FHA loan limit for 2019
Adams County $314,827
Ashland County $314,827
Barron County $314,827
Bayfield County $314,827
Brown County $314,827
Buffalo County $314,827
Burnett County $314,827
Calumet County $314,827
Chippewa County $314,827
Clark County $314,827
Columbia County $316,250
Crawford County $314,827
Dane County $316,250
Dodge County $314,827
Door County $314,827
Douglas County $314,827
Dunn County $314,827
Eau Claire County $314,827
Forest County $314,827
Grant County $314,827
Green County $316,250
Green Lake County $314,827
Iowa County $316,250
Iron County $314,827
Jackson County $314,827
Jefferson County $314,827
Juneau County $314,827
Kenosha County $368,000
Kewaunee County $314,827
La Crosse County $314,827
Lafayette County $314,827
Langlade County $314,827
Lincoln County $314,827
Manitowoc County $314,827
Marathon County $314,827
Marinette County $314,827
Marquette County $314,827
Menominee County $314,827
Milwaukee County $327,750
Monroe County $314,827
Oconto County $314,827
Oneida County $314,827
Outagamie County $314,827
Ozaukee County $366,850
Pepin County $314,827
Pierce County $356,500
Polk County $314,827
Portage County $314,827
Price County $314,827
Racine County $314,827
Richland County $314,827
Rock County $314,827
Rusk County $314,827
Sauk County $314,827
Sawyer County $314,827
Shawano County $314,827
Sheboygan County $314,827
St. Croix County $366,850
Taylor County $314,827
Trempealeau County $314,827
Vernon County $314,827
Vilas County $314,827
Walworth County $314,827
Washburn County $314,827
Washington County $327,750
Waukesha County $327,750
Waupaca County $314,827
Waushara County $314,827
Winnebago County $314,827
Wood County $314,827


Remember, some cities span more than one county. Ask your REALTOR® or lender about the loan limit you can expect if you’re searching for homes near county lines.

Ready to buy with an FHA loan in 2019?

Whether you know you’ll need an FHA loan or you’re looking for guidance on the best mortgage program for your budget and finances, we can help. Contact Edina Realty or your Realtor to get insights on the mortgage process.

For more buyer insights you can use, follow #BuyerInsights on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube


Join over {{'43232' | number}} subscribers

Status Definitions

For sale: Properties which are available for showings and purchase

Active contingent: Properties which are available for showing but are under contract with another buyer

Pending: Properties which are under contract with a buyer and are no longer available for showings

Sold: Properties on which the sale has closed.

Coming soon: Properties which will be on the market soon and are not available for showings.

Contingent and Pending statuses may not be available for all listings